Saturday, February 26, 2011

Independent Spirit Award Winners 2011 "BLACK SWAN" Tops!

I am a FILM INDEPENDENT member and I pride myself on being able to vote on some of the best independent films of the year.  This year is no exception.  

the Independent Spirit Award Winners Are:

Best Feature: Black Swan
Black Swan wins big

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan
Best Screenplay: Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are All Right
Best Male Lead: James Franco, 127 Hours
Best Supporting Male: John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone
Best Female Lead: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Female: Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone
Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan
Robert Altman Award: Please Give (given to director Nicole Holofcener, casting director Jeanne McCarthy and the ensemble cast)
Best First Screenplay: Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture
Best First Feature: Get Low (award given to the director, Aaron Schneider, and producers David Gundlach and Dean Zanuck)
Best Documentary: Exit Through The Gift Shop (the award goes to the director, but reclusive street artist Banksy reportedly sent “Mr. Brainwash” to accept the honor in his stead)
Best Foreign Film: The King’s Speech (award given to the director, Tom Hooper)
John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000): Daddy Longlegs (written and directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie and produced by Casey Neistat and Tom Scott)
Piaget Producers Award: Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff
Winter's Bone supporting winners Dale Dicky and John Hawkes
Someone To Watch Award: Mike Ott, Littlerock
Truer Than Fiction Award: Jeff Maimberg, Marwencol

Friday, February 25, 2011

What Happened To The Bullies From The Neverending Story?

Thanks to CinemaBlend for posting this:

What if you were haunted by a flying Dog Faced creature?  You lived through the 80's but could you dare live with what you saw?  What would you be like today?

Comedy troupe Rue Brutalia asks that question and finds the answer.